Drive-To-Work provides access to legal assistance for low income or previously incarcerated persons to restore driving privileges so they can drive to work and keep a job. Eligible individuals apply for our services, sign customary client agreements and pay an administrative fee starting at $300 (as of July 1.) We work with our clients to address the issues causing their license suspension, as shown on DMV records.
DMV Requirements for License Restoration
- All causes of the suspension must be addressed and removed from the client’s record
- All periods of the suspension (years, months) must be completed
- All reinstatement fees must be paid
- In most cases the client must pass the written, vision and road tests
Drive-To- Work Eligibility Guidelines
- An application must be completed and the individual pays a $25 processing fee (fee waived until January 31, 2022.)
- Drive-To-Work will obtain the DMV driver history and compliance summary
- An individual must have a gross income less than twice the federal poverty level: for 2021, $2,147 per month for a single individual and $4,417 per month for family of four
- Clients must have a job or other source of funds to pay costs to DMV, past due fines, etc.
- Clients must sign a client agreement and pay an administrative fee ($300, higher in complex cases)
Drive-To-Work Case Requirements
- Drive-To-Work provides assistance for license restoration. We do not offer defense of traffic cases
- We work with residents of Virginia, including assisting them on out-of-state issues
- We work with residents of other states on Virginia driver license issues
License Restoration Action Plan
Drive-To-Work will recommend a strategy that follows these steps in the order listed.
- Step 1: Education Requirements, such as driver improvement clinics and VASAP programs
- Step 2: Financial Requirements, such as payment or pay plans for child support, unpaid civil judgments for uninsured motor vehicle accidents
- Step 3: Court Requirements, such as restricted licenses or court orders to restore driving privileges
- Step 4: DMV Requirements, such as taking tests, learner’s permit periods, payment of reinstatement fees